About MFAA


Image of glass MFAA trophy

The annual MFAA Excellence Awards are THE industry Awards that recognise individuals and organisations operating in all sectors of the mortgage and finance industry. The aim is to encourage innovation and best practice, challenging the industry to constantly strive for excellence. Participation in this program is a benefit reserved for MFAA members.

Each year the MFAA reviews and improves the Awards program, processes and criteria to ensure the unbiased recognition of the best of the best in the mortgage and finance industry. This review is based on response to industry, participant and judges feedback and is part of MFAA’s ongoing commitment to keep the Awards program (and judging criteria) relevant, fair and in-line with industry requirements.

Entry Criteria

Entry criteria is emailed to the nominee once the Awards nomination has been received, processed and confirmed by the MFAA. Please allow up to 3 working days.

  • Written submissions must address both the General Criteria and the Category specific criteria for the category being entered.
  • Criteria responses are to be typed directly into the Acrobat text box provided.

Award Category Changes

Lender of the Year – eligibility and judging change
This category is now open to all lenders which are financial members of the MFAA and includes ADI (bank, credit union and building societies) and non bank lenders.

To reflect the importance the MFAA places on a lender’s service performance in relation to the brokers channel this category (previously known as ADI Lender of the Year) is no longer open to the usual nomination and submission process. Instead, MFAA accredited members will be invited to vote online for the Lender of the Year in January 2009. To ensure this is simply not a ‘popularity vote’ each lender will be ranked against a set of criteria by all eligible voters. The top three scoring lenders will become the finalists and will be announced on Thursday 29 January 2009 along with all other 14 Excellence Award category finalists. The overall top scoring Lender, the winner, will be announced at the Excellence Awards Dinner on Friday 27 February 2009.

Achievement Award
In 2008 the Achievement Award (previously known as Up-and-Coming Broker of the Year) was opened up to all mortgage and finance brokers with less than 4 years industry experience. This removed the need for entrants to be under 30 years of age placing a greater emphasis on industry experience. It was felt that nominees should be competing based on experience and ability and not on age.